On Center Home | MyOnCenter Portal | REQUEST A DEMO | CONTACT | SALES: 1-866-627-6246
 
 
Advanced
How to Use Search Effectively
Login


Tools Add
Table of Contents

Returning an Activation Code (removing license, deactivating software) (pre-1/1/2018) - OST QB DPC

Reference Number: AA-00498 Views: 7546 Created: 01/26/2016 01:54 pm Last Updated: 08/09/2018 10:41 am 0 Rating/ Voters

You can use the same license code on any number of machines, but the code can be activated on only one machine at any given time. To use a license on a different machine, it must first be returned (deactivate) from the current machine. For example, if you want to 'take your license home' for the weekend, you must first Return (deactivate) the license from your work PC. You then will be able to Activate the code on your home PC (and then reverse those steps to use the license at work again). An active Internet connection is required to return (deactivate) an Authorization Code.

Warning
It is your responsibility to manage your Activation Codes - On Center Software cannot revoke a machine's license so that it can be used on another machine.

To return a license (deactivate a code),

Click File > Check Authorization

Highlight one or more codes in the Local Activation Code box

Click Return - the program sends the Activation Code(s) back to On Center Software and removes the license from the current machine

The authorization status in the bottom right corner of the application does not update until the Check Authorization dialog box is closed.

The code may now be activated on a different computer.

Caution
You must return each License Code separately - returning one does not return the others.

The last five previously activated codes remain in the Activation Code dialog box so they can quickly be reactivated in the future. Once a code is activated, the Product/Feature is displayed next to the code in the drop-down list making it easy to reactivate later.

To remove a code from this list, please contact Technical Support.


Discussion 2
  • #
    [ Peter GAllagher]: 12/12/2018 03:27 pm

    How can I move a License from a computer that I know longer have access to ( so I can't de-activate) within the program as described in your KB

    Thanks

  • #
    [Daniel Wal]: Re: 12/13/2018 09:25 am

    This depends on the type of license you activated.
    If you have activated a network license (from a license manager) on a computer and no longer have access to that computer, you will just have to wait for the license to expire. The maximum duration is 30-days for versions released prior to April 2018 and 7 days for versions released after April.
    If you have activated a local license Key, you can contact Technical Support and they may be able to return the key for you.

Info Anything Wrong with this Article?

Please tell us your suggestion for making this article better:

Your full name: Your Email: Your feedback on this article:

 
Be sure to subscribe to comments so you are notified when there is a response to your comment.

If you need Technical Support or want to submit a Feature Request, click one of the buttons below, do not use this form.

 
request support Request Support submit feature request Feature Request

 


 

Something Wrong with this Article? Let us Know! Copyright 2018 - On Center Software, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Be sure to rate this article 5 stars if you found it helpful!.